How Many of These Album Covers Do You Recognize?

I couple of months ago I posted some quizzes that asked you to identify songs from a decade just by listening to their first second.  The  Guardian has also posted a series of quizzes asking you to identify music from a decade but this time you are shown an album cover and four possible artists / albums and you just need to pick the correct one.

Click here to test your knowledge of 60s album covers and see if you can beat my score of  6 (out of 12).

Click here to test your knowledge of 70s album covers and see if you can beat my score of  11 (out of 15).

Click here to test your knowledge of 80s album covers and see if you can beat my score of  11 (out of 15).

Click here to test your knowledge of 90s album covers and see if you can beat my score of  6 (out of 10).

Click here to test your knowledge of noughties album covers and see if you can beat my score of  8 (out of 15).

Disclosure: I owned four albums  included in the 70s quiz and three included  in the 80s quiz which definitely helped my score. I’m not sure if I still own those albums or if they were among those lost when I moved back to Minneapolis. I guessed on but one of the noughties album covers. Usually I’m not that good of a guesser.

5 thoughts on “How Many of These Album Covers Do You Recognize?

  1. This was hard! Even the decades I knew well seemed to have obscure examples. Bizarrely, my best score (10/15, which beat the average) was for the 00s. Of those, I was absolutely sure of 3 and got the rest by guesswork. I'm not confessing to my other scores.

    Like

  2. Pretty pathetic, but then again, I'm not really into music. I got 4 for the '60s, 7 for the '70s, and 8 for the '80s. I can't do any more. Since I stopped really paying attention to music in 1994, it'll be a matter of seeing how good my guessing skills are. Which you can see from the previous three scores.

    Like

  3. 60s 8/12
    70s 7/15
    80s 6/15
    90s 6/10
    00s 5/15

    Thought I'd do great on the 80s, but it was a HEAVY emphasis on British artists, and I wasn't into them that decade too much. I did a poor job of guessing overall- except for the 60s.

    Like

  4. I'm probably the only one who regularly would go to the record store and browse through the bins. It still makes me a little bit sad when I drive past where Positively Fourth Street was located. Yes there are still stores that sell albums but it's not the same… Once again thanks for playing along.

    Like

Leave a comment