Goodreads’ Top 100 Literary Novels of All Time – How many have you read?

That’s “literary” as in “not classifiable by genre.” Sure, you can call “Pride and Prejudice” chick-lit, but that’s probably not what Jane Austen was intending.

I got four stars for having read 20. Included are a couple of my favorite books of all time (The House of Mirth and East of Eden), a couple of books I struggled to complete (Confederacy of Dunces and The Scarlet Letter) and a few books I’ve started to read and given up on.

What really surprised me about the list is how many titles (especially on page 3) I didn’t even recognize. I’ve been the adult librarian at a branch where “literary fiction” is the second top category read by adults for four years! The only category more popular is “narrative nonfiction”.

Click here to take the quiz.

4 thoughts on “Goodreads’ Top 100 Literary Novels of All Time – How many have you read?

  1. 16, many of them when I was MUCH younger. I also didn’t tick one or two that I thought I might have read at the same stage but couldn’t remember – they are so well known that they might have just seeped into my consciousness. To be honest, most of the ones I haven’t read I really don’t feel I want to…….

    Like

Leave a Reply

