How Well Do You Know Scottish Words and Phrases?

highland-cow-1200x330

This quiz was posted on OxfordWords blog earlier this week in honor of St. Andrew’s Day.  St. Andrew’s Day is the feast day of Saint Andrew. It is celebrated on the 30th of November. Saint Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland, Greece, Romania, Russia, Poland, Ukraine, the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople and Saint Andrew, Barbados.

Click here to take the quiz and see if you, like over 70% of the people who have taken this quiz,  can beat my score of 40%. I’m expecting Anabel to get them all correct.

5 thoughts on “How Well Do You Know Scottish Words and Phrases?

  1. No pressure there then! Actually, I got 9 out of 10 – the only one I had to guess was wrong (the Gaelic question). I disagreed with fewer questions than I expected – only the first one. Many people thing sassenach refers to English people, but it really means lowlander. I qualify on both counts being English in origin and living in lowland Scotland.

    Like

  2. Thanks to everyone who took the quiz and posted comments. One of my New Years Resolutions is to figure out WordPress! I’m having problems moderating comments, posting, etc.

    For example what happened to Anabel’s wonderful explanation of one of the Scottish words?

    Like

Leave a Reply

