Which Opposite Came First?

This weeks quiz is from Oxford Word Blog.

There are plenty of words which come in pairs, as it were, so that knowing the definition of one will almost certainly mean you know the definition of the other.

The prefixes in-, un-, dis-, de-, ­and irr- often clue in the wordsmith to a verb or adjective which simply means the opposite of its complementary verb or adjective.

You might assume that the ‘positive’ verb or adjective precedes its opposite. One must do before one can undo, surely? Well, not always.

Click here to take the quiz and see if you can beat my score of 9 out of 10, which I obtained by guessing on every question.  For each pair, I just picked the word I was more familiar with.

8 thoughts on “Which Opposite Came First?

  1. Aaargh! I was doing so well (8/8) using your technique when my iPad decided it had had too much and reloaded the page. Tried again, it happened after 3. So I’ll never know what the last two are, I give up. I was interested that gruntled was formed in the 1930s though, I had thought that was a more modern tongue-in-cheek usage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

