Book Beginnings on Fridays – Suspect


Prologue
The Green Ball

Maggie stared at Pete with rapt, undivided focus.

Chapter 1

0247 Hours
Downtown Los Angeles

They were on that particular street at that specific T intersection at that crazy hour because Scott James was hungry. 


Suspect
by Robert Crais



My Initial Thoughts:

How did I not know that Robert Crais wrote a book where one of the main characters is a dog? (Maggie is a military/police dog suffering from post traumatic stress disorder.)

Probably because I never bothered to read a single review of the book. At some point I set up an “author alert” for Robert Crais, probably when showing a patron how to do it.  I got an automatic email when the library system ordered the book and I put the book on hold without even thinking about it. Then it sat in my requested book list at position 1 of xxx for a couple of months until I unsuspended it last week.

I’ve read every book Robert Crais has written. Sometimes I’m in the mood for a detective novel and in the midst of the crime and violence there is always something that makes me feel a bit better about the world in his books.

Maybe it’s because of the following quote from Wikipedia

Robert Crais has stated that “Thematically, again and again my books are about people who are trying to be better than they have been.”

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by  Rose City Reader in Portland,  Oregon 
“Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.”

3 thoughts on “Book Beginnings on Fridays – Suspect

Leave a Reply

