Book Beginnings – The Night Circus



The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices on downtown posts and billboards, no mentions or advertisements in local newspapers. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

The Night Circus
by Erin Morgenstern



My Initial Thoughts:

But where did the circus come from? And why did I decide I wanted to read this book?

I’ve had the electronic version of this book on hold for a very long time and the other day I got an email that it was available. I can’t remember anything about this book, not even why I put it on hold.  That sometimes  happens with regular books I put on hold but sometimes seeing the cover helps me remember.

Still can’t remember. The book got starred reviews from Library Journal, Kirkus and  Booklist but I don’t have time to browse through fiction book reviews at work.  I think I saw this somewhere (on the back cover?)

“The Night Circus is a gorgeously imagined fable poised in the high latitudes of Hans Christian Anderson and Oscar Wilde, with a few degrees toward Hesse’s Steppenwolf for dangerous spice. The tale is masterfully written and invites allegorical interpretations even as its leisurely but persistent suspense gives it compelling charm. An enchanting read.” Katherine Dunn, author of Geek Love

That would do it. Geek Love is one of my favorite books.

Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by  Rose City Reader in Portland,  Oregon (The “City of Roses”, home to Powell’s Books, the best bookstore in the world and also Katherine Dunn’s hometown).

“Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.”

3 thoughts on “Book Beginnings – The Night Circus

Leave a Reply

