Book Beginnings – Flower Children


They’re free to run anywhere they like whenever they like, so they do.

by Maxine Swann (2007)


My Initial Thoughts:

Only my second week of doing this and I’m a day late! We were short staffed at work yesterday so the books I had requested were stuck in one of many large green boxes until after I got off work. I grabbed this book from my display of moving character driven fiction (books that make readers feel emotionally invested in both the characters and the story) because it was short and the cover was intriguing.


That first sentence, all by itself, sets the tone of the book as moving. My first thought was “I hope everything turns out alright for these kids”.


Book Beginnings on Fridays is hosted by  Rose City Reader in Portland,  Oregon (The “City of Roses” and home to Powell’s Books, the best bookstore in the world).

“Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.”

Leave a Reply

