The 1968 Exhibit

Jimmy and I went to The 1968 Exhibit at the Minnesota Historical Society yesterday. It was the most interesting exhibit I’ve seen there. I would really like to go back again before it closes in February.

I have vague memories of some of the events of that year but my most vivid recollection was when I saw the Mrs. Beasley Doll. (I turned 6 that summer.) Jimmy wasn’t in existence in 1968 and had no idea who Mrs. Beasley was. A Family Affair didn’t live on in syndication and become the theme for a slot machine the way less popular shows of that year did (such as Bewitched, The Beverly Hillbillies and I Dream of Jeanie). Jimmy beat me at 1968 music trivia and we both made digital album covers and voted for president.
I’m glad I grabbed a copy of the December 24, 1968 Minneapolis Tribune (free reprints provided by the Star Tribune) while walking out. The Minnesota School of Business was advertising classes in computer programming but only 2 computer operator jobs were posted. There was one Gal Friday needed, one Girl Friday and National Beauty Supply was looking to fill the position “Girl” for $85 per week.

2 thoughts on “The 1968 Exhibit

  1. Brings back lots of memories! Jim and I are eager to see the exhibit. Maybe he'll find free passes when he begins volunteering at the library on Nov. 2!

    Like

Leave a Reply

