Occipital Nerve Block

I was very happy to receive a nerve block today for occipital neuralgia. For the last couple of weeks my leg has been painfully cramping up whenever I sit for more than 10 minutes and beginning last week I’ve been having almost constant severe headaches and electrical shock like sensations when touched.

I take 2 different MS specific muscle relaxants for these symptoms and do hours of stretches every day but for some unknown reason, everything just fell apart. I didn’t have any new symptoms, just a return of all the painful ones. I had this procedure done 2 years ago (and neglected to blog about it) and it really helped. It was easier procedure then. My neurologist did it during a regularly scheduled visit and we didn’t have to figure out how to keep my hair out of the way since it had just begun growing back. My neurologist wasn’t available to do this until April 1st so my mom took me to St. Louis Park and I had a nurse do it there.

It was really great that I was able to have it done today since it’s my dad’s birthday and I was able to enjoy a really nice birthday celebration with him, my mom and Jimmy.

The local anesthetic is beginning to wear off so the symptoms are coming back again. The steroids that were injected won’t begin to work for 2-5 days but hopefully this means that I’ll be able to have a good weekend. And hopefully it will be at least another 2 years before I have to deal with this again.

I see my neurologist again on April 14th. I’ll let you know what he says about it then.

One thought on “Occipital Nerve Block

  1. Good to hear that you'll get some relief from all the pain with this procedure. Let us know how you're doing. Sounds like you had a nice time at Olive Garden for your dad's birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

