Sometimes I Really Hate Computers

I just got this one. It seems to be working ok, but it failed the memory portion of the monthly scheduled maintence tests.

So I spent about an hour chatting online with a customer service rep, took the computer apart and tested it then put it back together, reconnected it to the printer, internet,…

Another hour of online chat and it turned out the first guy gave me the wrong instructions. So I took it apart and did another series of tests.

After another 45 minutes of online chat it was decided that the motherboard ( the central printed circuit board (PCB) in many modern computers that holds many of the crucial components of the system, while providing connectors for other peripherals) is faulty.

Since I just got the computer, it’s still under warranty and this won’t cost me any money. But it sure is costing me time. In 2 – 3 days I’ll receive packaging and instructions to send the computer in to be fixed. Then I’ll have to set up my old, slow computer to use for the 2-3 weeks until the new one comes back. Then I’ll have to set up the new one again.

Leave a Reply

