Chemo Drugs I’m Getting

I’m on the TC Combo which was reported as delivering 33% better disease-free and a 24% overall survival than the old standard in December 2005 . The results were confirmed in December 2007.

I just realized this morning that I had no idea what these drugs are made of. I do know that for over 9 years I’ve had weekly injections of interferons derived from Chinese Hamster ovaries. So I decided to look it up.


Taxotere is made from the bark of the Yew Tree.


Cytoxan is derived from nitrogen mustards and is similar to mustard gas. Although it’s common use is medicinal, in principle it may also be used for chemical warfare purposes.

Leave a Reply

