Medical Update

It’s all good news today.

I saw my surgeon today and he removed a couple of stitches that I don’t remember getting last week. My hematoma is finally (almost) healed. This has been so very, very disgusting. In consideration of my audience, I will not go into all the gory details here.

As long as my breast doesn’t get bashed yet again, I will not have to see Dr. Schlaefer again until he removes my port after I’m through with chemo. I’ve been being very careful. I haven’t bashed it in over a week after bashing it 3 Thursdays in a row.

I won my appeal with Health Partners. They will pay for Provigil. They’re even going to reimburse me the $300+ I paid for the month of April. (My neurologist gave me free samples for May.) And I just found out that studies have shown that Provigil not only reduces the fatigue caused by chemo but also provides relief from chemobrain.

I am now off Vicodin. I was a bit worried there for a while. I wasn’t sure how long the port would pinch a nerve. Early last week the pain ended. I’m not sure whether the port shifted slightly or if the nerve went dead. So I stopped taking Vicodin. Then last Thursday I bashed my breast while leaving work and I was back on it again for a couple of days…

Famous People Who Have Been Addicted to Vicodin

OK, Hugh Laurie is probably not a Vicodin addict in real life, but he does play one on TV.

My medical records are finally on the way to Piper, so I’ll be seeing my oncologist very soon. I would not be surprised if chemo starts sooner than later. I don’t think I can start radiation until 4 weeks from now.

3 thoughts on “Medical Update

  1. Thanks for sharing this very personal part of your life with us Donna it is kind of like being there with you Best of Luck James

    Like

Leave a Reply

