Mix tapes

Love Is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time was on my hold shelf today. I started reading it on break. It’s really good.

Publishers Weekly Starred Review. A celebratory eulogy for life in “the decade of Nirvana,” rock critic Sheffield’s captivating memoir uses 22 “mix tapes” to describe his being “tangled up” in the “noisy, juicy, sparkly life” of his wife, Renee, from the time they met in 1989 to her sudden death from a pulmonary embolism in 1997. Each chapter begins with song titles from the couple’s myriad mixes—”Tapes for making out, tapes for dancing, tapes for falling asleep”

THEN

I read this in my daily email from School Library Journal

  • Teens love making mixtapes… online. Thanks to Muxtape.com and Mixwit.com, teens can now share their mixes with the world. Even though these sites may not pass legal muster, they’re a lot of fun.

So I guess I’m supposed to blog about mix tapes today.I really don’t have that much to say. I had a huge record collection, went to see lots of bands, and really hated making mix tapes. I don’t think I ever managed to fill both sides. And no boy ever made me an actual mix tape.

Heidi is the only person that ever made me a tape. It was wonderful.

Song Titles

  • Nancy Griffith – Drive In Movies and Dashboard Lights
  • The Replacements – Alex Chilton
  • The Connells –

I was on a role, but got interrupted. Now I can’t remember and that tape died years ago.

My MP3 player is only half full. That is a hint. It would be really wonderful if people would send me songs to listen to while I’m at Piper getting chemo.

One thought on “Mix tapes

  1. Musical tastes tend to change through the years. My tastes haven’t exactly mellowed just yet (still into punk and metal) but I seem to have a soft spot for a good ballad. Two songs I would recommened are International You Day by Joey Cape and Tony Sly (who are also in a punk band called No Use for a Name) and Swing Life Away by Rise Against. Both are ballads from punk bands (is that an oxymoron).Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

